Uncategorized

Doing More at the Doseum

The Doseum

Overall Rating: 10/10     Good for:13 and under     Time Spent: 2 hours

920x920.jpg

My little sister (who is 12) and I recently visited the Doseum in central San Antonio, and let me tell you, I had more fun in that hands on children’s museum than I have had in any adult museum in my entire life. Elizabeth* and I had the opportunity to go during one of the HEB sponsored evenings, which are held every first and third Tuesday of the month and offer free admission from 6:30-8:30pm.

The Doseum is two stories of pure joy. It has 4 or 5 different rooms on each floor which hold a variety of different activities, all of which are both educational and super fun. They range from the geography room, where you can video chat with another museum in Mexico, to the outdoor water area, and a robotics section.

One of my favorite sections, however, was one of the smaller rooms which was home to about a thousand colorful balls and a tube-like maze that resembled a hamster’s paradise. Kids could use this space to experiment with gravity and air pressure. As you placed the balls in the tubes and they shot up in each and every direction only to find themselves in a suspended bucket timed to drop on the kids waiting excitedly below it.

FullSizeRender (5)

Another favorite was the journalism room. Behind a clear plastic wall, children could conduct and record interviews with their friends and families, which is great practice for any future radio dj. A few feet away, there was a “make your own comic” station and a miniature animation studio. As an employed journalist, I was in awe of the effort that the museum had unleased to help these kids foster a love of creativity and investigative reading.

The Doseum was the best experience I’ve had so far in my venture to find exciting, free activities in San Antonio, and I can’t recommend it enough. Especially to any parent/sibling who just wants to get some hands on learning for their kids. Even though the event lasted two hours, there were still rooms Elizabeth and I left unseen. So, I’ll definitely be returning very soon to find out what else this hands-on museum has in store.

Jen

*Names changed for privacy

Leave a Reply

